Research Groups

Ten Research Groups lie at the heart of the Bonn Center for Dependency and Slavery Studies. They investigate the various forms of strong asymmetrical dependencies that have developed across time and space. Each Research Group consists of one postdoctoral researcher (coordinator) and two PhD students.

© Colourbox

The subjects of the Research Groups have been designed to provide broad conceptual entry points for the study of dependency, without duplicating the subjects of the Research Areas. They are aimed to stimulate research with a global, trans-epochal and multi-disciplinary approach, rather than focusing on specific regions or periods. For this reason, the individual research projects of the members of each Research Group ideally deal with different historical periods and geographic contexts, while all seek to address the key issues of the Research Group.

The coordinator will design the research profile of their Research Group and conduct an individual research project. The PhD students will work on their own dissertation and participate in the activities of the Research Group and the BCDSS. The members of each Research Groups will contribute primarily to the outputs of one Research Area (e.g. Research Area B "Embodied Dependencies" plans a touring exhibition, while Research Area D "Labour and Spatiality" will provide its outputs in a textbook).

Research Groups

Research Group Leader: Dr. Christian Mader

PhD Researcher: Claire Conrad, Tamia Viteri Toledo

Learn more

Research Group Leader: Dr. Claude Chevaleyre

PhD Researcher: Anas Ansar

Learn more

Research Group Leader: Dr. Lisa Hellman

PhD Researcher: Lisa Phongsavath, Christine Mae Sarito

Learn more

Research Group Leader: Dr. Jutta Wimmler

PhD researcher: Mary Aderonke Afolabi-Adeolu, Boluwatife Akinro, Ricardo Márquez García,  Lukas Wissel

Associated members: Malik Ade, Prof. Dr. Andrew H. Apter

Learn more

Research Group Leader: Dr. Hanne Østhus

PhD Researchers: Malik Ade8

Research Group Leader: Dr. Mariana Armond Dias Paes

PhD Researchers: Juelma Da Conceição Gomes De Matos De Ngãla, Maysa Espíndola Souza

Learn more

Research Group Leader: Dr. Sinah Kloß

PhD Researcher: Lena Muders, Taynã Tagliati Souza

Learn more

Research Group leader: Dr. Christian G. De Vito

PhD Researchers: Adam Fagbore, Nabhojeet Sen

Learn more

Research Group Leader: Dr. Julia Winnebeck

PhD Researcher: Henriette von Harnier, David B. Smith

Learn more

Wird geladen